Incident Management
Systematic and efficient troubleshooting

IGZ Customer Service (ICS)

Service Level Agreements (SLA) help maintain plant availability and document the agreed quality of the services to be provided within a defined time window. To be able to react quickly and accurately to individual customer requirements in the event of an urgent incident, we offer our IGZ Customer Service (ICS), a corresponding incident management system.

Incident Management is the "flagship" of our core ICS services and enables professional 24/7 hotline support in conjunction with a high level of technical integration (SAP, PLC, mechanics).

The decisive advantage over "classic" service level agreements is that any error messages are received directly by specialists without any loss of time or friction (without any "routing").

You receive a professional hotline for all SAP modules in your digital supply chain:

Thanks to our technical expertise in the fields of PLC and mechanics, you receive one (1) hotline to ensure safe operation of your logistics and production plant – with clearly defined response times and tailored to the needs of your plant.

Incident Management is a service management process that comprises part of the ITIL methodology (IT Infrastructure Library). The primary goal is to eliminate any faults that occur within the shortest possible time together with the customer. The focus is always on a first-contact resolution that can be achieved as directly as possible at the first approach. The availability of experienced service resources ensures that incidents are assigned directly to the responsible support team/customer manager. This allows IGZ Service Consultants to deal with any malfunctions and problems that may result in business management impairments in the most ad hoc manner possible. ITIL defines these malfunctions as unplanned disruptions to IT services and/or quality-reducing restrictions. Therefore the incident itself is the focus of consideration, and not its cause (see also Problem Management).

Systematic, fast and efficient resolution of incidents

Incident Management Process | IGZ

Malfunctions can result from a variety of causes (e.g. operating errors, data inconsistencies, application errors, network problems, etc.). If there are direct effects on warehouse and/or production control, then rapid action is required.

The decisive and common goal here is usually to restore the application as quickly as possible or at least to create a suitable workaround. This objective distinguishes Incident Management from Problem Management or what is known as "Request Management", which fulfils specific requests in the form of consulting services.

The proven IGZ Service Methodology in Incident Management is based on the following (simplified) flow chart: First, a ticket is created by the hotline and first identified. The ticket is subsequently categorised and prioritised (according to the rules of the jointly agreed service level agreement); it is then immediately processed. Once ticket processing has been completed, the implemented measures are documented.

The decisive advantage over traditional services is that our IGZ Customer Service (ICS) receives incident reports directly without any detours, i.e. without any loss of time or friction (no call centre or similar).

Our service specialists work with checklists, which enable clear, objective category and priority allocation, which in turn enables the quick pre-classification of incidents that meet the actual need in terms of extent and urgency.

 

Secure methodology for increasing the first-contact resolution rate

Incidents can occur at the software level (SAP, PLC) as well as at the technology level (system technology, hardware, network, etc.). The first step of professional incident processing requires the incident to be recorded as completely as possible – and if possible without any time-consuming demand queues.

IGZ Service Consultants are supported by appropriate service tools for categorisation and prioritisation. If incidents cannot be resolved immediately in the first step, clearly-defined escalation rules agreed with our customers come into play. These simplify the cooperation with the 2nd and 3rd level service teams to ensure that a suitable joint solution can be found as quickly as possible.

As soon as this has been found and finally implemented, this is documented in addition to the preceding processes. Traceability and consistent transparency form the basis of embedded knowledge management for our customers.

The special benefit here is that the collected and shared experience simplifies and further accelerates the solution of future service tickets. This means that the first-contact resolution rate can be successively increased, and if possible already at the 1st level.

Keyfacts for clearly structured incident management

Key figure categorisation in all areas | IGZ

When managing incidents, keyfacts such as the number of incidents, the solution to such incidents and the average reaction and resolution time are also essential.

Corresponding evaluation of these keyfacts across categories, priorities and over time provides valuable information on the current level of incident management. At the same time, this allows statements to be made about the overall quality of the IT infrastructure in question.

IGZ offers (depending on the agreement) corresponding service reports, which can be sent at regular intervals (e.g. monthly) and discussed together.

Incident Management vs. Problem Management

Incident handling in all areas | IGZ

By definition, Incident Management focuses on incidents that have a negative impact on the quality of a service. The key objective is to return this service to the level agreed in the service level agreement (SLA) in the shortest possible time.

Negative effects on business processes must be minimised and customer satisfaction must be restored immediately. In contrast, Problem Management, which also forms part of ITIL, pursues the approach of preventing incidents from occurring in the first place. The causes of problems are investigated, localised and eliminated using suitable measures.

Against this backdrop, Problem Management sees itself as a primarily preventive catalogue of measures.

Incident Management
Systematische und effiziente Störungsbehebung

IGZ Customer Service (ICS)

Service-Level-Agreements (SLA) dienen der Aufrechterhaltung der Anlagenverfügbarkeit und dokumentieren die vereinbarte Qualität der innerhalb eines definierten Zeitfensters zu erbringenden Serviceleistungen. Um im akuten Störungsfall (Incident) schnell und zielsicher auf kundenindividuelle Erfordernisse reagieren zu können, bieten wir mit unserem IGZ Customer Service (ICS) ein entsprechendes Incident Management an.

Das Incident Management ist das „Flaggschiff“ unserer ICS Service-Kernleistungen und ermöglicht einen professionellen 24/7 Hotline-Support in Verbindung mit einer hohen Technikintegration (SAP, SPS, Mechanik).

Der entscheidende Vorteil gegenüber „klassischen“ Service-Level-Agreements liegt darin, dass auftretende Störungsmeldungen ohne Zeit- und Reibungsverluste direkt durch Spezialisten entgegengenommen werden (ohne „Durchrouten“).

So erhalten Sie eine professionelle Hotline für alle SAP-Module Ihrer Digital Supply Chain:

Aufgrund unserer Technikkompetenz aus den Bereichen SPS und Mechanik erhalten Sie eine (1) Hotline für den sicheren Betrieb Ihrer Logistik- u. Produktionsanlage – mit klar definierten Reaktionszeiten und auf die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Anlage zugeschnitten.

Incident Management ist ein Service-Management-Prozess innerhalb von ITIL Methodik (IT Infrastructure Library). Primäres Ziel ist es, aufgetretene Störungen innerhalb kürzester Zeit gemeinsam mit dem Kunden zu beseitigen. Im Fokus steht stets eine möglichst direkt auf dem ersten Weg zu erzielende Erstlösungsrate. Aufgrund entsprechendem Vorhalten von erfahrenen Service-Ressourcen werden Incidents unmittelbar dem zuständigen Support-Team/Betreuer zugeordnet. So können IGZ Service Consultants die aufgetretenen Störungen und Probleme, die unter Umständen betriebswirtschaftliche Beeinträchtigungen nach sich ziehen können, möglichst ad hoc bearbeiten. ITIL definiert diese Störungen als unplanmäßige Unterbrechungen von IT-Services und/oder qualitätsmindernde Einschränkungen. Im Mittelpunkt der Betrachtung steht somit der Vorfall (Incident) an sich und nicht dessen Ursache (siehe auch Problem Management).

Störfälle systematisch, schnell und effizient beseitigen

Incident Management Prozess | IGZ

Störungen können sich aus verschiedensten Ursachen ergeben (z.B. Bedienungsfehler, Datenschiefstände, Applikationsfehler, Netzwerkprobleme, etc.). Sofern sich direkte Auswirkungen auf die Lager- und/oder Produktionssteuerung ergeben, ist schnelles Handeln erforderlich.

Entscheidendes und gemeinsames Ziel ist hier in der Regel eine schnellstmögliche Wiederherstellung der Anwendung oder zumindest das Schaffen eines geeigneten Workarounds. Diese Zielsetzung unterscheidet das Incident Management vom Problem Management oder dem sog. „Request Management“, das gezielte Anfragen in Form von Beratungsleistungen bedient.

Die bewährte IGZ Service Methodik im Incident Management erfolgt (vereinfacht dargestellt) folgendem Ablaufschema: Zunächst wird ein Servicefall (Ticket) mit der Hotline angenommen und zunächst identifiziert. Anschließend erfolgt die Kategorisierung und Priorisierung (gemäß Regelwerk des gemeinsam vereinbarten Service Level Agreements).

Hierauf wird umgehend mit der Ticketbearbeitung begonnen. Nach Abschluss der Ticketbearbeitung erfolgt die Dokumentation der umgesetzten Maßnahmen.

Der entscheidende Vorteil gegenüber klassischen Serviceleistungen besteht darin, dass der IGZ Customer Service (ICS) Störungsmeldungen ohne Durchrouten, das heißt ohne Zeit- und Reibungsverluste (ohne Call Center o.ä.), entgegennimmt.

Um zügig eine auf den tatsächlichen Bedarf hinsichtlich Ausmaß und Dringlichkeit ausgerichtete Vorqualifizierung des Incidents vornehmen zu können, arbeiten unsere Service Spezialisten mit Checklisten, die eine eindeutige, objektive Zuordnung zu Kategorie und Priorität ermöglichen.

 

Abgesicherte Methodik zur Steigerung der Erstlösungsquote

Incidents können sowohl auf Softwareebene (SAP, SPS) als auch auf Seiten der im Einsatz befindlichen Technik (Anlagentechnik, Hardware, Netzwerk, etc.) auftreten. Eine professionelle Incident-Abwicklung beansprucht in einem ersten Schritt eine möglichst lückenlose Aufzeichnung des Vorfalls – und möglichst ohne zeitraubende Nachfrageschleifen.

Bei der Kategorisierung und Priorisierung werden die IGZ Service Consultants durch entsprechende Service Tools unterstützt. Sofern sich Incidents nicht gleich im ersten Schritt beheben lassen, sind eindeutige mit unseren Kunden abgestimmte Eskalationsregeln definiert. Diese vereinfachen die Zusammenarbeit mit den Service-Teams im 2nd und 3rd Level, um schnellstmöglich eine gemeinsame und passende Lösung herbeizuführen.

Sobald diese gefunden und final umgesetzt worden ist, wird sie inklusive der vorangegangenen Vorgänge dokumentiert. Rückverfolgbarkeit und eine durchgängige Transparenz bilden die Grundlage für ein verankertes Wissensmanagement bei unseren Kunden.

Der besondere Nutzwert besteht darin, dass die gesammelten und geteilten Erfahrungswerte die Lösung zukünftiger Service Aufgaben (Tickets) vereinfachen und weiter beschleunigen, sodass die Erstlösungsquote möglichst schon im 1st Level sukzessive erhöht werden kann.

Kennzahlen für ein klar strukturiertes Incident Management

Kennzahlenkategorisierung in allen Beriechen | IGZ

Essentiell für eine erfolgreiche Prozesssteuerung Im Zuge des Incident Managements sind zudem Kennzahlen, wie etwa die Anzahl anfallender Incidents, die Lösung derer sowie die druchschnittliche Reaktions- und Lösungszeit.

Eine entsprechende Auswertung dieser Kennzahlen über Kategorien, Prioritäten und auch den Zeitverlauf hinweg liefert wertvolle Hinweise auf das aktuelle Niveau des Incident Managements. Gleichzeitig lassen sich Aussagen über die Qualität der betroffenen IT-Infrastruktur insgesamt ableiten.

IGZ bietet (je nach Vereinbarung) entsprechende Service Reports an, welche in regelmäßigen Intervallen (z.B. monatlich) übermittelt und gemeinsam besprochen werden können.

Incident Management vs. Problem Management

Incidentabwicklung in allen Beriechen | IGZ

Per Definition fokussiert das Incident Management Vorkommnisse, die sich negativ auf die Qualität eines Services auswirken. Zentrale Zielsetzung ist, diesen Service innerhalb kürzester Zeit wieder auf das im Service-Level-Agreements (SLA) vereinbarte Niveau zu heben.

Negativauswirkungen auf die Geschäftsprozesse sind zu minimieren und die Kundenzufriedenheit unverzüglich wiederherzustellen. Das ebenfalls in ITIL enthaltene Problem Management hingegen verfolgt den Ansatz, Incidents erst gar nicht auftreten zu lassen. Anhand geeigneter Maßnahmen werden Problemursachen untersucht, lokalisiert und bereinigt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund versteht sich das Problem Management als ein in erster Linie präventiver Maßnahmenkatalog.